It’s all in your mind

Todays blog is dedicated to a gorgeous lady who is struggling with some issues at the moment. I never thought I would do requests (or have any readers for that matter) so beautiful, funny, awesome, anonymous friend of mine …

thisone

Whoever said failure is not an option, certainly never had a weight problem.

Up until very recently, all I had to look back on were failures as far as my nutrition was concerned. I also had an impressive collection of unused swing tags from gym memberships, but we’ve been over that before!

What is it that stops me from laying on the couch and eating things I shouldn’t? What stops me from eating crap when no ones looking? What stops me from doing a no show at the gym? What stops me from slipping back into old habits when things get a bit rough?

I do. I choose to stop myself.

I have had one period of time in this journey where I went rogue (as I like to call it) and I ate crap for 3 days. I felt bad while I was doing it, and I knew it was wrong. I was upset at myself, and I was disappointed with myself. But I only had myself to blame.

After 3 days of self sabotage I sat there, surrounded by empty take away containers, covered in gravy ( well, not really but you get the idea) and I asked myself the question. Is this it? Is this where you give up? Is this where you resign yourself to being the funny fat girl for the rest of your life? I asked myself some pretty hard questions that day, and the answer surprised me. This wasn’t it. I wasn’t ready to chalk up another failure.

I simply refused to have another failure where my health is concerned. I refused to keep living this unhealthy lifestyle, and I flat out refused to believe that I couldn’t change. That this is ‘just how I am.’ I tried telling myself all those things. I tried lying to myself and thinking, I’m just suppose to be this way.

It’s all in your mind. If you decide that you want something bad enough, you can make it happen. If you decide that changes have to be made, then you will find a way to change them. Pick a goal, and keep it in your mind at all times. Mine is to feel healthy, and feel comfortable.

Someone much smarter than me said “Complexity is the enemy of execution. The more complex you make something, the harder it is to follow through.”

So I keep it simple. I get up, I follow my program, I go to the gym, and I get plenty of rest. 4 steps. That’s it.

I also did something that is really not normally my cup of tea.. I made a vision board, and I started a gratitude journal. These 2 things help me stay focused, and they remind me every day why I am doing this.

Find your WHY and hold on to it. Remind yourself of it every day. Surround yourself with visual reminders of your goal. Keep it in the front of your mind, Dead centre, and hold onto it !

Oh and also, I look at this picture….. a lot

chiselmeout

2 thoughts on “It’s all in your mind

Leave a Reply

